Four top Hollywood and Bollywood producers to attend 23rd Annual Miss India America 2015 and The Elite Awards

Adi Shankar
Randall Emmett


LOS ANGELES: It is that time again where we witness the official crowning of Miss India America 2015. The year marks as the 23rd anniversary for the beauty pageant. Founded in 1992, by Jinnder Chohan, the pageant has grown to become an international phenomenon. Mr. & Miss India America 2015 is presented by South Asia Magazine, Wells Fargo, and

With the pageant’s impressive reputation, the gala has become a connection of fashion, beauty and media under one roof. The pageant takes place on Saturday, August 8 at the LAX Renaissance hotel (9620 Airport Boulevard, Los Angeles). Celebrity red carpet arrivals begin at 6 p.m., followed by dinner (catered by Ashoka the Great Indian Restaurant), show and celebration party with DJ. Tickets to the pageant can be purchased by logging on to:, click on tickets or call Jinnder at (310) 994-9500.

Chohaan said: “Bollywood filmmaker Anil Sharma of hit films: ‘Gadar’, ‘Veer’ and ‘Apne’ will be one of the official judges at Mr. & Miss India America. We are also honored to have Hollywood producer Sunil Perkash of hits ‘Salt’ with Angelina Jolie and ‘Premonition’ with Sandra Bullock joining us at our pageant.”

The Elite Awards 2015 will honor today’s top Hollywood producers: Randall Emmett and Adi Shankar.  Having worked with top A-listers in Hollywood, Emmett’s blockbuster hits included: 2 Guns with Denzel Washingon, Empire State with Liam Hemsworth, Escape Plan with Sylvester Stallone, 16 Blocks with Bruce Willis, and Rambo with Sylvester Stallone.

Shankar’s blockbusters include: Lone Survivor with Mark Wahlberg, Killing Them Softly with Brad Pit, Broken City with Russell, and The Grey with Liam Neeson. The Elite Awards honor those that have excelled in the entertainment industry and have inspired others. Past recipients have included: Hollywood legend Garry Marshall (Pretty Woman), actor Steven Seagal, director Shekhar Kapur, and Bollywood filmmakers Anurag Kashyap, Kunal Kohli, Subhash Ghai, Rahul Rawail and others.

Asifa Mirza
Bollywood filmmaker Anil Sharma directing Amitabh Bachchan.
Hollywood producer Sunil Perkash.

Many of the pageant’s past winners are making it in Hollywood – Melanie Kannokada, former Miss India America, can be seen on HBO’s ‘The Brink’ with Jack Black and Tim Robbins, and soon on CBS new TV Series ‘Code Black’ in September. Nishi Munshi, former Miss India California, can be seen on CW’s ‘The Originals’, and Hasan Minaj, former Mr. India California, is seen as a regular on ‘The Daily Show’ with Jon Stewart.

Current titleholder from Arizona, Maya Charuni Sarihan, is a pre-med student and singer. Maya mentioned, “About a year ago, I embarked on a remarkable journey that led me to become Miss India America. Though “pageant girls” are supposedly manicured and poised, I think this journey has actually taught me to be 100% true to my crazy self, whether behind the camera or in class. So here’s to many more candids, adventures, and laughing like a 5 year old at absolutely nothing.” 

The evening will begin with an amazing group of prominent personalities from all over the world walking down the red carpet, these include: actress Ambyr Childer (2 Guns, Gangster Squad, Showtime’s Ray Donovan, NBC’s Aquarius), actress Annett Mahendru (FX’s The Americans, The Following on FOX), Bravo TV’s Asifa Mirza (Shahs of Sunset), Bollywood’s DJ Akbar Sami, actor Ravi Patel (Grandfathered with John Stamos), actress/producer Kim Poirier,actress Kate Linder (The Young  and The Restless), Australian singer Katja, French singer/actress Melissa Mars, British singer/actress Sofia Hayat (Big Boss), actress Nishi Munshi (CW’s The Originals), actress Courtney James Clark (Jurassic World), BET TV host Chasity Saunders (The Art of Fabulous), Disney singer/actress Alexa Ferr, Dr. Rachael Ross (Doctors), Tyree Washington (Gold Olympian and former San Diego Charger), actor Joe Estevez, Karla and Iris Gordy (MoTown Records), actress Madison Beaty (The Fosters), Rizwan Manji (The Wolf on Wall Street), and many others.