Surrey United Brothers Field Hockey Club Crowned BC Champions For Third Year In A Row

surrey hockey club

2013 Boys Under 16 Field Hockey Provincial Club Championship was held in Victoria BC, this past weekend May 25 and 26. Total of six top clubs from all over BC participated in the tournament.

The final match was played between United Brothers field hockey club of Surrey and India Field Hockey club of Surrey. United Brothers team won the Provincial Championship by beating India club by 3 goals to 2. Victoria field hockey club won the third spot. United brothers have won this prestigious championship for the third year in a row.

Final Match of the tournament was an exciting and a very well fought close encounter between the two teams. India club team was stacked with 10 players from provincial and national team where as United brothers had only six such players on their roster. Both the teams played attacking and fast hockey which kept the spectators on the edge .

United Brothers Tarjan sandhu scored the first goal via PC which was soon answered by Harkirat Ahluwalia of India club with a PS goal. Both teams were 1-1 at the half time.

After the breather United brothers kept the defence of India club busy with some great raids into the india club circle. The quartet of Kabir Aujla, Tarjan Sandhu, Paul Gill and Sukhnidhan Sangha were superb in their raids that lead to a PC early in second half. Sewak Sanghera’s scorching sweep from the D top was too powerful for the rival GK and gave UB much needed lead. UB’s Sukhnidhan Sangha scored the third goal after receiving a beautiful pass from Paul Gill. This goal seemed to sting India club players so much that they brought their game to a higher level and attacked UB gaol repeatedly till they were able to reduce the margin to 2- 3 with a goal by Ranjigar Sandhu.

In the last five minute of the match india club were awarded four Penalty corners but alert Penalty corner killers of UB Sewak Sanghera, Rajan Kahlon, Kabir Aujla, jaypal Sivia and Surjan sandhu prevailed to win this prestigious Championship for a third year in a row. In other words “hatrick “ of Championships.