India announces e-tourist visa for Canada and 30 more countries

New Delhi (IANS) India’s e-tourist visa scheme, earlier known as tourist visa on arrival, will be extended to 31 more countries from May 1, it was announced on Wednesday.

The central government said the facility, started on November 27, 2014, to 45 countries from nine designated Indian airports, is being extended to 31 more countries, including Canada and France.

“This facility is being extended to 31 more countries from May 1,” it said in a statement.

“New countries are Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Canada, Cayman Island, Chile, Costa Rica, Dominica, Dominic an Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, France, Georgia, Grenada, Haiti, Holy See (Vatican), Honduras, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Nicaragua, Paraguay, St Kitts and Nevis and Seychelles.”

With the new addition, the total number of countries under the scheme will go up to 76.

The scheme will be extended to more countries in a phased manner, the statement said, adding the government was committed to extend it to 150 countries by the end of this financial year.