2019 BC Secondary School AAA Championships

THE Semiahmoo Totems put their No. 1 ranking and undefeated season on the line as they gun for the school’s first provincial girls AAA basketball title since 1953.

Semiahmoo, with a roster comprised largely of Grade 9 and 11 players, placed fourth at the 2018 championships and they are aiming to build on that experience and take the next step when the 2019 BC Secondary School AAA Championships kick off on Wednesday, February 27.

Fraser Valley teams have the top four seeds – and seven of the top nine seeds – for the 16-team tournament with the Walnut Grove Gators at No. 2, the Riverside Rapids at No. 3 and the Yale Lions at No. 4.

The top seeded non-Valley team is the defending champion Kelowna Owls, who come in at No. 5.

The action tips off on February 27 at 8:45 a.m. with the championship game set for Saturday, March 2 at 5 p.m. For the full draw, click here.

Here’s a look at the field by ranking:

  1. Semiahmoo Totems
  2. Walnut Grove Gators
  3. Riverside Rapids
  4. Yale Lions
  5. Kelowna Owls
  6. Brookswood Bobcats
  7. Robert Bateman Timberwolves
  8. Okanagan Mission Huskies
  9. Abbotsford Panthers
  10. Argyle Pipers
  11. R.A. McMath Wildcats
  12. Mount Baker Wild
  13. Nanaimo District Islanders
  14. Royal Bay Ravens
  15. Lord Byng Grey Ghosts
  16. North Peace Grizzlies

The Bruins were bronze medallists in 2018 while the Grizzlies were South Kamloops’ opponent in the championship game, 6.2 seconds away from capturing the title before the Titans forced overtime and completed the comeback with a 73-67 victory.

The first game gets underway Wednesday at 8:45 a.m. and the championship final is set for Saturday at 3 p.m. For the full draw, click here.

Here’s a look at the field by ranking:

  1. South Kamloops Titans
  2. Langley Christian Lightning
  3. G.W. Graham Grizzlies
  4. Britannia Bruins
  5. St. Thomas Aquinas Fighting Saints
  6. Vernon Panthers
  7. Duchess Park Condors
  8. Seycove Seyhawks
  9. Lambrick Park Lions
  10. St. Thomas More Collegiate Knights
  11. Whistler Storm
  12. Smithers Gryphons
  13. G.P. Vanier Towhees
  14. Little Flower Academy Angels
  15. Westsyde Whundas
  16. David Thompson Trojans

And finally, the 24-team 2019 B.C. Junior Girls Basketball Provincial Invitational Tournament is also running at Langley Events Centre concurrently with the two senior tournaments.

The Terry Fox Ravens, Kelowna Owls, Riverside Rapids and St. Thomas More Collegiate Knights are seeded one through four.

The first game tips off February 27 at 8:30 a.m. with the championship final set for Saturday, March 2 at 1 p.m.

For the AA championships, the South Kamloops Titans are looking for a second consecutive provincial championship and enter the 16-team tournament as the top seed, returning most of their roster from that 2018 title-winning squad.

The top four is rounded out by the No. 2 Langley Christian Lightning, the No. 3 G.W. Graham Grizzlies and the No. 4 Britannia Bruins.

Here’s a look at the field by ranking:

  1. Terry Fox Ravens
  2. Kelowna Owls
  3. Riverside Rapids
  4. Thomas More Collegiate Knights
  5. Pacific Christian
  6. Argyle Pipers
  7. York House Tigers
  8. Heritage Woods Kodiaks
  9. Claremont Spartans
  10. Fleetwood Park Dragons
  11. Yale Lions
  12. Okanagan Mission Huskies
  13. E.I. Eagles
  14. College Heights Cougars
  15. Belmont Bulldogs
  16. Burnaby South Rebels
  17. Seaquam Seahawks
  18. Sa-Hali Sabres
  19. Brookswood Bobcats
  20. Duchess Park Condors
  21. W.L. Seaton Sonics
  22. Sir Winston Churchill Bulldogs
  23. Kelly Road Roadrunners
  24. Hazelton Spartans


For the full draw, click here.