As Wilkinson suffers crushing defeat, Kevin Falcon and Dianne Watts likely to emerge as leadership contenders

AS the B.C. Liberals under Andrew Wilkinson suffer a humiliating defeat at the hands of Premier John Horgan and his NDP – Horgan goes down in history as the first NDP Premier in B.C. to have consecutive terms – British Columbians can expect some prominent BC Liberals to contend for the party leadership.

The NDP’s Moe Sihota on Saturday night mentioned the names of former deputy premier Kevin Falcon and former Surrey mayor Dianne Watts as those who could be expected to try to be the next BC Liberal leader.

Falcon, currently an executive VP of Anthem Capital Corp., ran for the leadership of the party in 2011, but lost to Christy Clark. He was MLA for Surrey-Cloverdale from 2001 to 2013. He served as the deputy premier and minister of finance.

Dianne Watts Photo: Twitter

Watts, is Board Director for Canfor and Westshore Terminals and a former Conservative MP (South Surrey—White Rock, 2015-2017) who resigned to run unsuccessfully for the leadership of the BC Liberal Party.

Comments are closed.