BC Liberals announce MLA critic roles

INTERIM Leader of the Official Opposition Shirley Bond on Monday announced the new BC Liberal MLA critic roles, saying that the team brings exceptional skills, energy, and a commitment to hold Premier John Horgan and the NDP government to account.

“As the Official Opposition, we have a responsibility to make sure this government deals with the critical issues facing British Columbians. Our caucus represents people from all across the province and we will ensure that their voices are heard in Victoria,” said Bond.  “It is essential that the government’s approach to COVID-19, from a health and economic perspective, is transparent and effective so that all British Columbians can have confidence in the future of our province.”

The 28-member BC Liberal caucus will make sure there is an integrated response to the health and economic crisis that British Columbia is currently facing.

“I’m proud to work with such a talented team of passionate MLAs who will use their diverse skills and experience to ask tough questions, raise important issues, and work hard on behalf of their constituents,” added Bond. “Andrew Wilkinson has agreed to support multiple critic portfolios given his experience across many of these files, and I thank him for that. Our BC Liberal caucus is ready to get to work as we hold John Horgan and the NDP accountable for the promises they made and push for the bold actions that are necessary during these unprecedented times.”

MLA Critic Portfolios: 
Advanced Education, Skills Training & Sport – Coralee Oakes 
Agriculture & Food – Ian Paton 
Attorney General – Mike de Jong 
Citizens’ Services – Bruce Banman 
Children, Family Development & Childcare – Karin Kirkpatrick 
Columbia Basin Initiatives – Doug Clovechok 
Energy, Mines & Low Carbon Innovation – Tom Shypitka 
Education – Jackie Tegart 
Environment & Climate Change Strategy – Ellis Ross 
Finance – Mike Bernier 
Fisheries, Aquaculture & BC Ferries – Jordan Sturdy 
Forests, Lands, & Natural Resources – John Rustad 
Gender Equity, Accessibility & Inclusion – Stephanie Cadieux 
Health – Renee Merrifield 
Housing – Ben Stewart 
Indigenous Relations & Reconciliation – Peter Milobar 
Jobs, Economic Recovery & Innovation – Todd Stone 
Labour – Greg Kyllo 
Mental Health & Addictions – Trevor Halford 
Municipal Affairs – Dan Ashton 
Public Safety & Solicitor General – Mike Morris 
Rural Development – Lorne Doerksen 
Seniors Services & Long Term Care – Shirley Bond 
Social Development & Poverty Reduction – Dan Davies 
Tourism, Arts & Culture, & Anti-Racism Initiatives – Teresa Wat 
Transportation, Infrastructure & TransLink – Michael Lee 

Caucus Officers: 
Interim Leader – Shirley Bond 
House Leader – Peter Milobar 
Caucus Chair – Stephanie Cadieux 
Caucus Whip – Doug Clovechok 
Deputy Caucus Whip – Greg Kyllo 
Assistant Deputy Speaker – Norm Letnick