BC Liberals Leadership Election Organizing Committee rejects Aaron Gunn’s candidacy

BC Liberal Party Leadership Election Organizing Committee (LEOC) Co-Chair Roxanne Helme and BC Liberal Party President Paul Barbeau on Friday announced that the LEOC has declined to approve Aaron Gunn’s application to be a candidate in the ongoing BC Liberal leadership contest.

The BC Liberal Party Executive has received and unanimously accepted the LECO’s decision.

Gunn had come under fierce attack by the NDP.

“After a thorough review of Mr. Gunn’s statements on social media, both public and private, and after having provided Mr. Gunn with the opportunity to respond to concerns raised by certain of those statements, LEOC concluded that to approve Mr. Gunn’s candidacy would be inconsistent with the BC Liberal Party’s commitment to reconciliation, diversity and acceptance of all British Columbians,” said Helme.

“Today, during a joint meeting of the Party Executive and the Leadership Election Organizing Committee, the party’s elected party executive unanimously accepted LEOC’s recommendation regarding Aaron Gunn’s candidate application. We thank LEOC for their work in this matter,” said Party President Paul Barbeau.

The leadership election process will conclude on February 5, 2022. British Columbians have until 5 p.m. on December 17 to join the party and be eligible to vote in the leadership race.

There are currently six official candidates in the race to become the next leader: Gavin Dew, Kevin Falcon, Michael Lee, Val Litwin, Ellis Ross, and Renee Merrifield.