Many South Asians in Canadian field hockey team for 2015 Indoor Mason Cup

FIELD Hockey Canada has confirmed the 12 athletes who have been selected to represent Canada at the 2015 Indoor Mason Cup from January 2-4, 2015, in Denmark.

The tournament will feature top club teams from across Europe including former Russian club champion Dinamo Elektrostal, Denmark’s Orient Lyngby and Stagelse HK, as well as National Teams from Switzerland and Sweden.

Canada’s participation in the tournament is a part of its ongoing preparation for the 2015 Indoor World Cup, which will be held in Leipzig, Germany from February 4-8.

Both the Canadian Men’s and Women’s Indoor National Teams qualified for the 2015 Indoor World Cup by winning their regional qualifier, the Pan American Cup, in Uruguay earlier this year.


Canada’s 2015 Mason Cup Roster

Name / Hometown


Devohn Noronha-Teixeira / Mississauga, ON

Gurtej Dhaliwal / Ottawa, ON

Jeewanjot Singh Bath / Brampton, ON

Jonathan Roberts / Stoney Creek, ON

Ken Pereira / Unionville, ON

Lyle Fernandes / Mississauga, ON

Micah Teixeira / Mississauga, ON

Pardeep Koonar / Ottawa, ON

Scott Sandinson / Toronto, ON

Shane Rajaraman / Halifax, ON

Shankar Premakanthan / Ottawa, ON

Tyler Branco / Toronto, ON