‘Caps unable to overcome stellar effort from MNUFC keeper Shuttleworth


MINNEAPOLIS, MN: Goalkeeper Bobby Shuttleworth and midfielder Miguel Ibarra led Minnesota United FC (4W-5L-0D) to a shorthanded 1-0 victory over Vancouver Whitecaps FC (4W-5L-1D) at TCF Bank Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

Whitecaps FC outshot MNUFC 19 to 4, but Shuttleworth made seven saves for the clean sheet to silence the Vancouver offence, that commanded much of the match with 57.5% possession and hit the woodwork twice.

Ibarra cashed in on a Loons chance and scored the winner in the hour-mark when he slotted in his own putback, after ‘Caps goalkeeper Stefan Marinovic made the save on the initial attempt. The goal came less than 10 minutes after the home side was reduced to 10 men when MNUFC striker Mason Toye was shown a straight red card for violent conduct, swinging an elbow at an unsuspecting Kendall Waston.

Substitutes Kei Kamara, Yordy Reyna, and Brek Shea had a number of chances to equalize for the ‘Caps.

Reyna’s 70th-minute long-distance attempt beat Shuttleworth, but not the post. Kamara returned from injury to test the MNUFC keeper with his foot and his head, but could not solve his former New England Revolution teammate on the day. Shea sent a curling effort inside the far top corner, but Shuttleworth flew right for a left-handed full-stretch stop.

Anthony Blondell turned in a solid 63-minute outing in his third consecutive start with four shots on target and seven in total. Alphonso Davies dazzled once again on each flank, while Felipe and Aly Ghazal were stout in the midfield, but it would not be enough on the afternoon for the ‘Caps.

Whitecaps FC get an opportunity to bounce back with two home matches in a six-day stretch, beginning on Friday, May 11 when they host Houston Dynamo at BC Place. Kickoff is at 7:30 p.m. PT. Visit whitecapsfc.com for ticket information.


Budweiser Man of the Match: Felipe
Referee: Nima Saghafi
Attendance: 19,642

Scoring Summary
60′ – MIN – Miguel Ibarra

Possession: MIN 42.6% – VAN 57.4%
Shots: MIN 4 – VAN 19
Shots on Goal: MIN 3 – VAN 7
Saves: MIN 7 – VAN 2
Fouls: MIN 14 – VAN 13
Offsides: MIN 1 – VAN 1
Corners: MIN 5 – VAN 5
Duels won: MIN 43 – VAN 64
Tackles won: MIN 13 – VAN 19

20′ – VAN – Aly Ghazal
26′ – MIN – Darwin Quintero
66′ – VAN – José Aja
90’+1′ – MIN – Bobby Shuttleworth

50′ – MIN – Mason Toye

Minnesota United FC
33.Bobby Shuttleworth; 30.Eric Miller (2.Carter Manley 82′), 15.Michael Boxall, 5.Francisco Calvo ©, 3.Jerome Thiesson; 20.Rasmus Schuller, 7.Ibson; 10.Miguel Ibarra (22.Wyatt Omsberg 78′), 25.Darwin Quintero, 32.Alexi Gomez (17.Collin Martin 77′); 23.Mason Toye

Substitutes not used
28.Matthew Lampson, 16.Harrison Heath, 19.Franck Pangop, 31.Maximiano

4.Tyrone Mears, 6.Sam Cronin, 8.Marc Burch, 9.Abu Danladi, 11.Johan Venegas, 14.Brent Kallman, , 18.Kevin Molino, 21.Christian Ramirez, 26.Collen Warner, 27.Bertrand Owundi Eko’o,

Vancouver Whitecaps FC
1.Stefan Marinovic; 3.Sean Franklin, 4.Kendall Waston ©, 18.José Aja, 46.Brett Levis; 7.Bernie Ibini (20.Brek Shea 70′), 8.Felipe, 66.Aly Ghazal, 67.Alphonso Davies; 11.Nicolás Mezquida (29.Yordy Reyna 63′), 9.Anthony Blondell (23.Kei Kamara 63′)

Substitutes not used
12.Brian Rowe, 6.Efraín Juárez, 28.Jake Nerwinski, 31.Russell Teibert