New England Patriots win their fourth NFL Super Bowl


New York (IANS) The New England Patriots beat the Seattle Seahawks 28-24 to win the 49th NFL (National Football League) Super Bowl.

The Patriots rallied back from 14-24 down after three quarters to snatch two touchdowns in the fourth quarter and collected their fourth Super Bowl in eight attempts Sunday night, reported Xinhua.

The Seahawks lost the title match in dramatic fashion. They were just one yard away from their fourth touchdown but a pass from quarterback Russell Wilson was intercepted and the Seahawks failed to defend the title.

Tom Brady’s fourth touchdown pass was a three-yarder to Julian Edelman with two minutes and two seconds left in the fourth quarter, giving the New England Patriots a 28-24 lead over the Seattle Seahawks.

A goal line interception of a pass from Seattle quarterback Wilson secured the victory for the Patriots with 20 seconds left.

Quarterback Tom Brady of the winning New England Patriots was named the most valuable player of the Super Bowl.

The Patriots tied Dallas and Pittsburgh for most Super Bowl appearances with eight.