Canadian field hockey teams announced for Indoor World Cup

LOGO FIELD HOCKEYWITH the Indoor World Cup of Hockey set to begin in only two weeks, Field Hockey Canada has named both the men’s and women’s Indoor National Teams which will travel to Leipzig, Germany, to take part in the tournament from February 4-8.

Twenty-four athletes – 12 men and 12 women – have made the final rosters, with the majority hailing from Ontario, where the indoor programs train.

Leading the men’s side are Jeewanjot Bath (Brampton, ON) and Jonathan Roberts (Stoney Creek, ON), both of whom have played more than fifty international indoor matches each for Canada. Ken Pereira (Unionville, ON) who leads Canada in outdoor matches played with 348, is also a part of the team.

Goalkeeper Shankar Premakanthan (Ottawa, ON) will be taking part in his fourth Indoor World Cup for Canada.

Both the men and women qualified for the World Cup by winning gold at the Indoor Pan American Cup in Uruguay in 2014.

The Canadian women are in a group with Australia, Germany, Austria, Belgium, and Ukraine, while the men are grouped with Poland, the Netherlands, Switzerland, South Africa and Russia.


Canadian Men’s Indoor National Team

(Name / Hometown – all Ontario)

Devohn Noronha-Teixeira / Mississauga

Gurtej Dhaliwal / Ottawa

Jeewanjot Singh Bath / Brampton

Jonathan Roberts / Stoney Creek

Kenneth Pereira / Unionville

Lyle Fernandes / Mississauga

Micah Teixeira / Mississauga

Pardeep Koonar / Ottawa

Scott Sandinson / Toronto

Sean Baretto / Markham

Shankar Premakanthan / Ottawa

Tyler Branco / Toronto