MP Deepak Obhrai hosts 17th National Diwali Celebration on Parliament Hill

Deepak Obhrai, joined by Andrew Scheer, Lisa Raitt, Vikas Swarup and Deepak Chopra unveil two special Diwali stamps issued jointly by Canada Post and India Post.

MP Deepak Obhrai hosted the 17th National Diwali Celebration on Parliament Hill in Ottawa on Wednesday (October 18).

Obhrai was joined by Andrew Scheer, Leader of the Official Opposition, Parliamentarians representing all political parties, members of the Ottawa diplomatic corps and an enthusiastic crowd of people from Toronto, Montreal, Calgary and Ottawa.

At the celebration, Obhrai along with Canada Post CEO Deepak Chopra, Indian High Commissioner Vikas Swarup, Scheer and Conservative Party Deputy Leader Lisa Raitt  unveiled two special stamps to mark Diwali and in celebration of Canada’s 150th Anniversary. This is the first time Canada Post and India Post have jointly issued a stamp.

Deepak Obhrai and his wife Neena Obhrai are joined by Andrew Scheer, Vikas Swarup and MPs to light the Diwali lamp.

Obhrai said: “This has always been a community-driven event. This is your Diwali. It will continue with your support.”

This year’s Diwali Celebration was organized with the cooperation of Hindu temples and Indo-Canadian community organizations from across Canada.

Among the institutions were Overseas Friends of India Canada; BAPS Shri Swaminarayan Mandir, Toronto; Laxmi Narayan Mandir, Toronto; Hindu Society of Calgary; Hindu Mandir, Montreal; Bharat Mata Mandir, Brampton; Vedic Hindu Cultural Society of Surrey, BC;  Vishwa Shakti Durga Mandir, Ottawa; Jai Durga Hindu Society of Scarborough; Canadian Hindu Association, Toronto; Arya Samaj Vedic Cultural Center, Markham; Hindu Sabha Mandir, Brampton; Shri Hanuman Mandir, Brampton; Rajasthan Association of North America (RANA) Canada; India Canada Organization of Montreal; and Indo Canadian Community Centre, Ottawa.