‘Caps fall to Timbers, face possible must-win scenario next week

PORTLAND, OR – Yimmi Chará’s second half goal lifted Portland Timbers to a 1-0 victory at Providence Park on Sunday evening in a tightly-contested clash that had massive 2020 MLS Cup Playoffs implications.

With the loss, Whitecaps FC face a must-win scenario versus LA Galaxy next Sunday to have a chance to pass San Jose Earthquakes for the final MLS Cup Playoffs spot. Major League Soccer is evaluating whether Sunday’s postponed match between the Quakes and LAFC can be rescheduled prior to Decision Day. If the match is not rescheduled, the Quakes clinch the last postseason berth.

After a scoreless first half that saw the two sides trade 10 combined chances, the Timbers broke through right after the hour mark with a Yimmi Chará volley. The eventual match-winner was set up by pinpoint passing from a number of Timbers, with the final cross served up by Jorge Villafaña. 

Whitecaps FC did not go out without a fight, pressing on for the equalizer and firing off a dozen shots but the Timbers stood tall to hold on to their lead. Lucas Cavallini had four shots, two in target, for Vancouver, but it would not be enough against the top-seeded Timbers.

The ‘Caps regular season finale against LA Galaxy kicks off at 3:30 p.m. PT next Sunday, November 8 at Providence Park, live on TSN and TSN Radio 1040. Michael Baldisimo will miss the match to serve a one-match suspension for yellow card accumulation.


VWFC Man of the Match: Érik Godoy
Referee: Armando Villarreal

Scoring Summary
61′ – POR – Yimmi Chará (Jorge Villafaña)

Possession: POR 58% – VAN 42%
Shots: POR 11 – VAN 12
Shots on Goal: POR 3 – VAN 2
Saves: POR 2 – VAN 2
Fouls: POR 16 – VAN 7
Offsides: POR 2 – VAN 0
Corners: POR 4 – VAN 2

88′ – VAN – Michael Baldisimo

Portland Timbers
12.Steve Clark; 28.Pablo Bonilla (32.Marco Farfan 84′), 33.Larrys Mabiala, 13.Dario Zuparic, 4.Jorge Villafaña; 30.Eryk Williamson, 21.Diego Chará; 23.Yimmi Chará (14.Andres Flores 84′), 8.Diego Valeri (22.Cristhian Paredes 90’+6′), 7.Andy Polo; 9.Felipe Mora (11.Jaroslaw Niezgoda 78′) (44.Marvin Loría 90’+6′)

Substitutes not used
31.Aljaz Ivacic,19.Tomas Conechny, 25.Bill Tuiloma, 40.Renzo Zambrano  

Vancouver Whitecaps FC
30.Evan Bush; 28.Jake Nerwinski (14.Theo Bair 84′), 4.Ranko Veselinović, 22.Érik Godoy, 53.Ali Adnan; 11.Cristian Dájome, 19.Janio Bikel (55.Michael Baldisimo 79′), 17.Leonard Owusu, 31.Russell Teibert (87.Tosaint Ricketts 69′); 12.Fredy Montero, 9.Lucas Cavallini

Substitutes not used
1.Bryan Meredith, 3.Cristián Gutiérrez, 13.Derek Cornelius, 15.Andy Rose, 27.Ryan Raposo, 32.Patrick Metcalfe