Raising Day Celebration Of Indian Ex-Servicemen Society Of BC

surrey ex-servicemen raising day president

Raising Day of the Indian Ex-Servicemen Society of BC was celebrated at Lovely Banquet Hall which was attended by 85 members. The President, Col. Darshan Singh Sidhu welcomed all members and guests. The president apprised the members and guests that the society has attained the age of 18 years.

The need for this society was felt by its Founding President (Retd) Lt Col Pritam Singh Jauhal. At that time, there was no such organisation or office that could look after the welfare of Indian ex-servicemen living in BC. With his dedication, drive and determination, Lt Col Pritam Singh Jauhal took the initiative to call all ex-servicemen living in Vancouver at The Grand Taj Banquet Hall in Surrey on May 13, 1995 and proposed to form a welfare society in BC. His proposal was unanimously agreed to by all the 300 members who contributed financially as well as provided office equipment and furniture.

Lt Col Pritam Singh Jauhal was elected first president of this society. Captain Lakha Singh Mann was elected as the first secretary of this society, who did maximum hard-work single-handedly to raise this society in spite of numerous initial difficulties.

Lt Col Karnail Singh Parihar did a yeoman`s service by writing down By-Laws for this society. The society is today enjoying the fruits of the hardwork done by all the founding members.
This society is located at 8236 Avenue & 128 Street in Surrey and functions from 11am to 2 pm on all working days.

All ex-servicemen living in BC are requested to become members by paying $20 for the whole year. Captain Mohinder Singh Jaswal is the secretary who can be contacted at 604-501-3939 during office hours.

At the raising day celebration, Lt Harpal Singh Brar took the stage for the entertainment of the guests and Bibi Gurbax Kaur Grewal also read out her best-prepared songs. All members were served drinks & snacks. Everyone enjoyed the function and the sumptuous dinner. At the end president, Col. Darshan Singh Sidhu thanked all members, ladies and guests.