‘Caps fall in the second leg of the Canadian Championship final


TORONTO Vancouver Whitecaps FC fell 5-2 to Toronto FC in the second leg of the Canadian Championship final at BMO Field on Wednesday, dropping the series 7-4 on aggregate.

Head coach Carl Robinson made one change from the first leg at BC Place, bringing in Aly Ghazal for Felipe, who was suspended after receiving a red card in the first leg.

An intense first half rife with hard tackles saw the ‘Caps generate a pair of chances on goal, with a diving header from Yordy Reyna and a fierce strike from Alphonso Davies both zipping wide of the net.

Toronto FC had chances of their own though and opened the scoring on 39 minutes with a quick passing sequence ending on a finish from Jozy Altidore to make it 1-0. Five minutes later it was 2-0 on a header from Sebastian Giovinco.

Two more goals from Altidore early in the second half put the series out of reach. But the ‘Caps would not go down without a fight. Kei Kamara pulled one back midway through the second half, and then Brek Shea scored another with just under 15 minutes to play.

However it was not enough for Whitecaps FC, with Tosaint Ricketts rounding out the scoring as the home side earned the victory to lift the Voyageurs Cup.

The ‘Caps get right back to action this coming Saturday, August 18 when they host New York Red Bulls at BC Place. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. PT. Tickets remain available at

Referee: Drew Fischer
Attendance: 14,994
Scoring Summary
39′ – TOR – Jozy Altidore (Marco Delgado)
44′ – TOR – Sebastian Giovinco (Jonathan Osorio)
49′ – TOR – Jozy Altidore (Sebastian Giovinco)
53′ – TOR – Jozy Altidore (Sebastian Giovinco)
63′ – VAN – Kei Kamara (Nicolás Mezquida)
77′ – VAN – Brek Shea
80′ – TOR – Tosaint Ricketts (Michael Bradley)
Possession: TOR 60.6% – VAN 39.4%
Shots: TOR 17 – VAN 11
Shots on Goal: TOR 13 – VAN 4
Saves: TOR 2 – VAN 8
Fouls: TOR 9 – VAN 10
Offsides: TOR 0 – VAN 2
Corners: TOR 10 – VAN 1
Toronto FC
1.Clint Irwin; 2.Justin Morrow, 15.Eriq Zavaleta, 23.Chris Mavinga (6.Nick Hagglund 63′), 5.Ashtone Morgan; 14.Jay Chapman 4.Michael Bradley ©, 21.Jonathan Osorio (87.Tosaint Ricketts 78′), 18.Marco Delgado; 10.Sebastian Giovinco (54.Ryan Telfer 67′), 17.Jozy Altidore
Substitutes not used
25. Alex Bono, 9.Gregory van der Wiel, 46.Tsubasa Endoh
Whitecaps FC
1.Stefan Marinovic; 28.Jake Nerwinski, 4.Kendall Waston ©, 2.Doneil Henry, 17.Marcel de Jong; 13.Cristian Techera (11.Nicolás Mezquida 51′), 66.Aly Ghazal, 31.Russell Teibert, 67.Alphonso Davies (20.Brek Shea 51′); 23.Kei Kamara (19.Erik Hurtado 63′), 29.Yordy Reyna
Substitutes not used
12.Brian Rowe, 3.Sean Franklin, 6.Efraín Juárez, 9.Anthony Blondell