Downtown Surrey BIA elects 2022 Board of Directors

THE Downtown Surrey Business Improvement Association (DSBIA) has elected it’s 2022 Board of Directors. Each of the Directors owns a business or property within the downtown Surrey core.

“We are pleased to welcome such an outstanding group of new board members and thank the incumbent members for their ongoing commitment to Surrey’s downtown core,” said DSBIA CEO Elizabeth Model. “This is an incredibly exciting time in the downtown as businesses across British Columbia and Canada continue to see the positive momentum of the region and investment remains strong across commercial, residential and academic institutional projects. Downtown Surrey is experiencing unprecedented growth and business leaders across the province are looking at Surrey as a key location for their future expansion.”

The 20-person board is made up of 11 new members and nine returning for their second year of the two-year term.

New Board Members:

Austin Zhang – Westland Living
Brad Howard – PCI
Harp Khela – Allure Ventures
Louis Maurice De Jaeger – Métis Nation BC
Melanie Adamczewski – Urban Systems
Michael Johanson – Arbour Memorial (Avalon)
Mike Nielson – Sprite Multimedia Systems Ltd.
Nissar Dalal – Prospera
Monica Vanderzalm – Eurocan Industries
Shirley Samujh-Dayal – Coast Mountain Bus Company
Soleman Hashmi – Hashmi Law

Returning Board Members (for year two of the two-year appointment):

Joanne Curry – Simon Fraser University
Randal Dhaliwal – FASKEN
Chris Gardner – Independent Contractors of British Columbia
Larry Fisher – Lark Group
Sonny Janda – Janda Group
Kathrin Matadeen – TD District VP Business Banking
Charan Sethi – Tien Sher Homes
James Stewart – Hamilton Duncan
Perminder Tung – King George (Surrey) Holdings Ltd

The Downtown Surrey Business Improvement Association’s primary goal is to assist businesses and commercial property owners in the Downtown Surrey area to build a safe and vibrant community, with a livable downtown area.

For more information visit