Five Surrey RCMP officers appointed to Order of Merit of the Police Forces

(L-R) Sgt. Philip Hasenpflug, Inspector Ghalib Bhayani, Superintendent Dave Attfield, Officer-in-Charge Chief Superintendent Bill Fordy, Staff-Sgt. Paul Mulvihill and Sgt. Marc Searle.

FIVE Surrey RCMP officers have been appointed to receive the prestigious Order of Merit of the Police Forces (OMPF) in recognition of their outstanding commitment to policing and for their service to Canadians.

Being invested into the OMPF is a significant honour that is only given to a select few employees of the Canadian policing community. This award is not about a single act, but recognizes an ongoing long-term commitment displayed by the employee to serving the communities they work in both on and off duty.

On July 4, Governor General David Johnston appointed the following Surrey RCMP officers into the Order of Merit of Police Forces:

* Superintendent Dave Attfield, Surrey RCMP Operations Officer (22 years of service)

* Inspector Ghalib Bhayani, Surrey RCMP Community Services Officer (23 years of service)

* Staff-Sgt. Paul Mulvihill, Surrey RCMP Traffic Services (25 years of service)

* Sgt. Philip Hasenpflug, Surrey RCMP Criminal Collision Investigation Team (39 years of service)

* Sgt. Marc Searle, Surrey RCMP Community Services (14 years of service)

“Throughout their distinguished careers, these officers’ superior police work and contributions to the community have been exemplary,” said Surrey RCMP Officer-in-Charge Chief Superintendent Bill Fordy. “Their leadership and progressive approach to policing have enhanced the safety and security of our residents. I congratulate each of them on this well-deserved appointment to the Order of Merit of the Police Forces.”

The Order of Merit of the Police Forces honours a career of exceptional service or distinctive merit displayed by the men and women of the Canadian Police Services, and recognizes their commitment to this country. The primary focus is on exceptional merit, contributions to policing and community development.