Kevin Falcon is the new BC Liberal Party Leader

KEVIN Falcon is the new BC Liberal Party Leader, winning finally in the fifth round of counting with 52.19  per cent of the points.

Falcon received 47 per cent of the points in the first round.

“Today marks the start of a new chapter for our Party,” said Falcon in a statement. “As I committed to at the beginning of my campaign, we need to work on a root-to-branch rebuild of the BC Liberals – one that embraces diversity, and offers a real vision on issues like housing affordability, affordable childcare, and the environment. I’m proud to have received a strong mandate to move the Party in this direction.”

Falcon called on supporters of other leadership candidates to help with rebuilding efforts.

“Regardless of who you supported in this leadership race, I want you to know that you are welcome in the BC Liberal Party,” he said. “If you believe that a private sector-driven economy is the best way to fund world-class public services, we want you in our Party. And if you believe that we need both compassion and competence to address the greatest challenges of our time, we want you in our Party.”

Falcon pledged to seek a seat in the legislature as soon as possible.

“Starting tomorrow, I will begin discussions with members of the BC Liberal Caucus to identify a seat to run in,” said Falcon. “Once that seat becomes available, I will immediately ask [Premier] John Horgan to call that by-election at the earliest possible time.”

Falcon previously served as Deputy Premier, Minister of Finance, Minister of Health, and Minister of Transportation.

The other BC Liberal leadership hopefuls included MLAs Michael Lee, Ellis Ross and Renee Merrifield, and business leaders Gavin Dew, Val Litwin and Stan Sipos.