Kuldip S. Thandi and his slate elected unopposed at Vancouver’s Khalsa Diwan Society’s Ross Street Gurdwara amidst controversy

Kuldip S. Thandi
Kuldip S. Thandi


VANCOUVER’S Khalsa Diwan Society’s Ross Street Gurdwara President Sohan Singh Deo in a press release on Sunday announced that as “only one slate of candidates” was nominated by the October 8 deadline, Kuldip S. Thandi and his slate were elected unopposed to the executive committee for 2015-2017. Thandi will be the new president.

The press release stated: “This is the first time since 1989 that these elections were held by acclamation.”

However, the Sangat Seva Society in a statement on October 9, said: “We are still in litigation and nothing has been worked out or resolved.  Lawyers are communicating and they have been served that no election can take place until everything is resolved.”


The Thandi slate:


President: Kuldip S. Thandi

Senior Vice President: Ranjit S. Hayer

Vice President: Nasib K. Badyal

General Secretary: Joginder S. Sunner

Assistant General Secretary: Kashmir S. Dhaliwal

Recording Secretary: Surinder S. Sidhu

Assistant Recording Secretary: Karnail S. Bhandal

Treasurer: Sukhwinder S. Gill

Senior Assistant Treasurer: Pall S. Beesla

Assistant Treasurer: Jarmanjit S. Hundal

Members: Tarsem S. Bal, Chuhar S. Dhillon, Ravinder S. Johal, Raghbir S. Kular, and Indermohan S. Walia