LAFC thwart ‘Caps bid for three straight

LOS ANGELES, CA – Vancouver Whitecaps FC had their two-match winning streak snapped on Wednesday evening, falling 6-0 to Los Angeles Football Club at Banc of California Stadium.

LAFC had the advantage early and did not let go, scoring five first-half goals. Bradley Wright-Phillips had himself a brace, while Dejan Jakovic and Diego Rossi pitched in with one apiece. LAFC also benefitted from a ‘Caps own goal on each side of intermission to build the insurmountable 6-0 score. 

The ‘Caps now fly back to their temporary home in Portland where they are in action on Sunday at Providence Park. They play as the home side against their Cascadia rival Portland Timbers, with kickoff scheduled for 7 p.m. PT live on TSN2 and TSN Radio 1040.

ADDITIONAL NOTES: Bryan Meredith made seven saves in his VWFC debut. He replaced Thomas Hasal in net for the ‘Caps, who was not medically cleared for Wednesday’s match. Hasal had made the previous nine starts for Whitecaps FC across all competitions… Russell Teibert was likewise not medically cleared for the match after subbing out in the second half of last Saturday’s match at Real Salt Lake. Teibert had started each of the ‘Caps 18 matches across all competitions in 2020.


Referee: Rubiel Vazquez

Scoring Summary
2′ – LAFC – Dejan Jakovic (Brian Rodríguez)
5′ – LAFC – Bradley Wright-Phillips
11′ – LAFC – Bradley Wright-Phillips
14′ – LAFC – Ranko Veselinović (own goal)
33′ – LAFC – Diego Rossi (Mark-Anthony Kaye)
68′ – LAFC – Andy Rose (own goal)

Possession: LAFC 65.1% – VAN 34.9%
Shots: LAFC 19 – VAN 7
Shots on Goal: LAFC 11 – VAN 0
Saves: LAFC 0 – VAN 7
Fouls: LAFC 10 – VAN 10
Offsides: LAFC 3 – VAN 0
Corners: LAFC 12 – VAN 2

27′ – VAN – Michael Baldisimo
83′ – LAFC – Jordan Harvey

Los Angeles Football Club
23.Pablo Sisniega; 7.Latif Blessing, 5.Dejan Jakovic (2.Jordan Harvey 57′), 4.Eddie Segura, 12.Diego Palacios (13.Mohamed El-Munir 56′); 11.José Cifuentes, 20.Eduard Atuesta © (19.Bryce Duke 72′), 14.Mark-Anthony Kaye (8.Francisco Ginella 56′); 17.Brian Rodríguez, 66.Bradley Wright-Phillips (16.Danny Muskovski 57′), 9.Diego Rossi

Substitutes not used
1.Kenneth Vermeer, 21.Christian Torres, 26.Adrien Pérez, 28.Antonio Leone

Vancouver Whitecaps FC
1.Bryan Meredith; 28.Jake Nerwinski, 4.Ranko Veselinović (22.Érik Godoy HT), 13.Derek Cornelius, 3.Cristián Gutiérrez; 19.Janio Bikel (32.Patrick Metcalfe 67′), 55.Michael Baldisimo; 14.Theo Bair (17.Leonard Owusu 22′), 7.David Milinković (15.Andy Rose HT), 11.Cristian Dájome (12.Fredy Montero 57′); 9.Lucas Cavallini ©

Substitutes not used
60.Isaac Boehmer, 27.Ryan Raposo, 53.Ali Adnan, 87.Tosaint Ricketts