Byelections for Vancouver-Mount Pleasant and Langford-Juan de Fuca on June 24 (information on candidates)

PREMIER David Eby has called two byelections for the electoral districts of Vancouver-Mount Pleasant and Langford-Juan de Fuca.

Final voting day for both electoral districts will be June 24.

Vancouver-Mount Pleasant and Langford-Juan de Fuca became vacant when Melanie Mark and former premier John Horgan resigned as MLAs earlier this year.

For information about voting and registering to vote, call Elections BC toll-free at 1 800 661-8683, or visit:


ELECTIONS BC said that residents of Langford-Juan de Fuca and Vancouver-Mount Pleasant can vote in the by-election for their district if they are:

  • 18 or older on June 24, 2023,
  • a Canadian citizen, and
  • a resident of B.C. since December 23, 2022

Candidate nominations close at 1 p.m. on June 3. The final list of candidates for both districts will be posted on Elections BC’s website after nominations close.

Eligible voters can register or update their voter information now, online or by phone, or when they go to vote. Online and phone registration is available until midnight on June 14 at, or 1-800-661-8683, Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Registering or updating now will help make the voting process faster. It will also ensure voters receive their Where to Vote card from Elections BC before advance voting starts.

There are many accessible options to vote in the by-elections.

Voters can vote at the Langford-Juan de Fuca or Vancouver-Mount Pleasant district electoral office during office hours from now until 4 p.m. on June 24. The hours are listed below.

Langford-Juan de Fuca District Electoral Office
Belmont Market Shopping Centre,
110-955 Reunion Avenue,
Langford, B.C.
Vancouver-Mount Pleasant District Electoral Office
#615 369 Terminal Avenue,
Vancouver, B.C.

Office hours:

  • Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Saturdays: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
  • Advance voting days and Election Day: 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Advance voting will be available from Friday, June 16 to Wednesday, June 21. All advance voting places will be wheelchair accessible and open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Not all advance voting places will be open on every day of the advance voting period, so voters should check their Where to Vote card before going to vote.

Voters can also vote by mail. Voting packages can be requested on Elections BC’s website or by calling 1-800-661-8683. Voters can return their completed voting package by mail or in person at a district electoral office or voting place. Elections BC must receive completed voting packages before voting closes at 8 p.m. on June 24.

The final opportunity to vote is on Election Day, Saturday, June 24, and voting places will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Preliminary results will be announced shortly after voting closes.

Voters with disabilities are encouraged to contact Elections BC for information about accessible voting options.

Voters must meet legislated ID requirements to receive a ballot. Acceptable ID is listed at

Langford-Juan de Fuca and Vancouver-Mount Pleasant will be the 201st and 202nd provincial by-elections administered in B.C., and the third and fourth by-elections administered under the current version of the Election Act. The last provincial by-election in B.C. was on September 10, 2022 in the Surrey South electoral district.

For more information, visit, follow Elections BC on social media, or call 1-800-661-8683.





Vancouver-Mount Pleasant by-election: NDP nominates Indigenous leader Joan Phillip; BC United chooses entrepreneur Jackie Lee

Langford-Juan de Fuca by-election candidates: Ravi Parmar (NDP), Elena Lawson (BC United), Camille Currie (B.C. Green)