Metro Vancouver’s Board Chair and Vice Chair acclaimed for fourth term

BURNABY Councillor Sav Dhaliwal and City of North Vancouver Mayor Linda Buchanan have been acclaimed as Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, of the Metro Vancouver Board of Directors for their fourth consecutive term.

Dhaliwal and Buchanan also assume the roles of Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, of the Greater Vancouver Sewerage and Drainage District, the Greater Vancouver Water District, and the Metro Vancouver Housing Corporation.

Metro Vancouver directors are elected officials from 21 municipalities, one treaty First Nation, and one electoral area. Each year, the Board of Directors elect a Chair and Vice Chair for a one-year term. Directors are appointed by their respective councils, with the number of directors from each jurisdiction reflecting that area’s population. Directors are allocated one vote for every 20,000 people in their community, to a maximum of five votes.

Mayor Linda Buchanan

In the coming weeks, Dhaliwal will appoint directors to Metro Vancouver’s standing committees, which consider priorities, policies, and activities for the organization and make recommendations to the Board.

Dhaliwal’s biography can be found on the City of Burnaby website.

Buchanan’s biography can be found on the City of North Vancouver website.