Metro Vancouver’s Board Chair Dhaliwal and Vice Chair Buchanan acclaimed for third term

BURNABY Councillor Sav Dhaliwal and City of North Vancouver Mayor Linda Buchanan have been acclaimed as Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, of the Metro Vancouver Board of Directors for their third consecutive term.

Sav Dhaliwal and Linda Buchanan also assume the roles of Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, of the Greater Vancouver Sewerage & Drainage District, the Greater Vancouver Water District and the Metro Vancouver Housing Corporation.

Metro Vancouver directors are elected officials representing 21 municipalities, one treaty First Nation, and one electoral area. Each year, board directors elect a Chair and Vice Chair for a one-year term. Directors are appointed by their respective municipal councils, with the number of directors from each jurisdiction reflecting that area’s population. The formula is one vote for every 20,000 people to a maximum of five votes.

In the coming weeks, Dhaliwal will appoint directors to Metro Vancouver’s standing committees, which consider priorities, policies, and activities for the organization and make recommendations to the Board.