NEWS IN BRIEF: Shirin Anjarwalla wins golf championship; Shakila Jeyachandran running for Burnaby Council; Too many Conservative MPs won’t run again


Shirin Anjarwalla
Shakila Jeyachandran

SHIRIN ANJARWALLA WINS BC JUVENILE GIRLS’ GOLF CHAMPIONSHIP: Shirin Anjarwalla became the B.C. Juvenile Girls’ champion on Thursday at Chilliwack’s Royalwood Golf Course, after leading all three days of competition.Anjarwalla shot -1 (72) on her final round on the way to becoming the 2014 Girls’ champion. The 14-year-old from Nanaimo cultivated her lead early and would hold on over three days of tough competition finishing with scores of 68-67-72. “I played really good, I think my first two rounds were the best I’ve ever played so I was really proud of myself,” said Anjarwalla. Over the course of 54 holes, Anjarwalla only made three bogeys but made an outstanding 15 birdies. When Team Canada member, Naomi Ko, began to catch her lead, Anjarwalla changed her approach. “I was just thinking ‘Ok, don’t try to play so aggressive, just try to make your pars. If birdies fall then they’ll fall but don’t play just for birdies’. I was just trying to stay to my game plan and keep steady,” she explained. (British Columbia Golf)


SHAKILA JEYACHANDRAN RUNNING FOR BURNABY COUNCIL: Two women, South Asian Shakila Jeyachandran and Helen Ward, were officially announced this week as Burnaby First candidates for Burnaby Council by their party’s mayoral candidate Daren Hancott, who said: “They come from diverse backgrounds – a reflection of our diverse city.” Jeyachandran is a local business owner who has lived in Burnaby for over a decade and has  run several businesses, amongst them a Chevron franchise and a residential building development company. Originally recruited as a School Trustee candidate, due to her passion for optimal educational outcomes for her son with special education needs, Jeyachandran was instead encouraged to seek a council seat based on her business background, understanding of building development issues, and community leadership.


TOO MANY CONSERVATIVE MP’S WON’T RUN AGAIN: The Globe and Mail reported this week that more Conservative MPs won’t be seeking re-election this time than those in the last election: at least 18 of the current 162 Tory MPs have announced they won’t be running again. Another seven have already quit. In the previous House, only seven then-incumbent Conservative MPs didn’t run again in 2011, and only two quit before that. In the past week, Brian Storseth and Rick Norlock announced they won’t run again. Others who will not be running again are British Columbia’s Russ Hiebert, James Lunney and Colin Mayes; Alberta’s Diane Ablonczy, Laurie Hawn and LaVar Payne; Saskatchewan’s Ray Boughen, Garry Breitkreuz, Ed Komarnicki and Maurice Vellacott; Ontario’s Barry Devolin and Gordon O’Connor; and Nova Scotia’s Gerald Keddy and Greg Kerr, according to the Globe and Mail.