Rights groups welcome statement from eminent Canadians for review, oversight of national security activities

A group of 22 eminent Canadians, comprised of former prime ministers, ministers of justice, ministers of public safety, solicitors general, Supreme Court of Canada justices, and members of national security, law enforcement and privacy review bodies, published a statement in The Globe and Mail and La Presse calling urgently for an enhanced approach to national security review and oversight in the country.  The group includes men and women whose public service, in areas where they have been responsible for addressing wide-ranging national security challenges, stretches from 1968 to 2014.

This important statement comes at a time when Canada is considering a radical expansion of national security powers across government, but has made no equivalent proposals for strengthened review and oversight of the agencies and departments responsible for national security, says the B.C. Civil Liberties Association.

Amnesty International, the BC Civil Liberties Association, the Canadian Civil Liberties Association, the International Civil Liberties Monitoring Group, La Ligue des droits et libertés, and the National Council for Canadian Muslims strongly support this statement, which highlights the importance of robust review and oversight for the three critically important and inter-connected reasons of protecting human rights, strengthening national security, and building public trust and governmental accountability.

This statement, endorsed by eminent Canadians who have served in public positions of authority and expertise relating to national security, law, and government accountability, makes clear that strong accountability mechanisms lead to better security for all Canadians: “Canada’s national security policies and practices must be effective in order to protect public safety. Independent oversight and effective review mechanisms help ensure that resources devoted to national security activities are being utilized effectively and efficiently.”



Jean Chrétien, Prime Minister of Canada (1993-2003), Minister of Justice (1980-82)

Joe Clark, Prime Minister of Canada (1979-80), Minister of Justice (1988-89)

Paul Martin, Prime Minister of Canada (2003-06)

John Turner, Prime Minister of Canada (1984), Minister of Justice (1968-72)

Louise Arbour, Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada (1999-2004)

Michel Bastarache, Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada (1997-2008)

Ian Binnie, Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada (1998-2011)

Claire L’Heureux Dubé, Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada (1987-2002)

John Major, Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada (1992-2005)

Irwin Cotler, Minister of Justice (2003-06)

Marc Lalonde, Minister of Justice (1978-79)

Anne McLellan, Minister of Justice (1997-2002), Minister of Public Safety (2003-06)

Warren Allmand, Solicitor General of Canada (1972-76)

Jean-Jacques Blais, Solicitor General of Canada (1978-79)

Wayne Easter, Solicitor General of Canada (2002-03)

Lawrence MacAulay, Solicitor General of Canada (1998-2002)

Frances Lankin, Member, Security Intelligence Review Committee (2009-14)

Bob Rae, Member, Security Intelligence Review Committee (1998-2003)

Roy Romanow, Member, Security Intelligence Review Committee (2003-08)

Chantal Bernier, Acting Privacy Commissioner of Canada (2013-2014)

Shirley Heafey, Chairperson, Commission for Public Complaints against the RCMP (1997-2005)

Jennifer Stoddart, Privacy Commissioner of Canada (2003-2013)