Harper congratulates Team Canada for bagging gold medal at IIHF World Junior Hockey Championship

PRIME Minister Stephen Harper on Monday congratulated Team Canada on their gold medal at the 2015 International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) World Junior Hockey Championship, which was held on home ice in Montreal and Toronto.

Canada beat Russia 5-4 with Max Domi scoring two goals and adding an assist. Others who scored were Anthony Duclair, Nick Paul, Connor McDavid and Sam Reinhart. Zach Fucale made 26 saves. Dmitri Yudin, Ivan Barbashev, Sergey Tolchinsky and Nikolai Goldobin scored for Russia.

Harper said: “On behalf of all Canadians, I would like to congratulate our junior men’s hockey team on their incredible achievement at this year’s World Junior Hockey Championship. I would also like to extend my congratulations to the team’s coaches and organizers, who played a pivotal role in this success.

“Thanks is also due to all participating teams for once again providing fans around the world with great moments in sport, as well as the cities of Montreal and Toronto for co-hosting such a successful tournament.

“Every year, the World Juniors are part of the holiday tradition for many devoted hockey enthusiasts, including my family. The whole country is immensely proud of the hard work and dedication that this team demonstrated throughout the entire tournament, earning Canada its 16th gold medal at the IIHF World Junior Hockey Championships since 1977 and its 29th medal overall. The team’s performance has undoubtedly inspired many aspiring hockey stars.

“This victory, which comes on the heels of gold medal wins for our men’s and women’s hockey teams at the Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics, is further proof that hockey is Canada’s game.

“Along with hockey fans everywhere, I look forward to next year’s World Junior Championship, which will be held in Helsinki, Finland.”


IIHF Directorate award winners:

Top Forward – Max Domi (Canada)

Top Defenceman – Vladislav Gavrikov (Russia)

Top Goaltender – Denis Godla (Slovakia)

Most Valuable Player – Denis Godla (Slovakia)


Media all-star team:

G – Denis Godla (Slovakia)

D – Gustav Forsling (Sweden)

D – Josh Morrissey (Canada)

F – Max Domi (Canada)

F – Connor McDavid (Canada)

F – Sam Reinhart (Canada)