PACIFIC FC 0 – VANCOUVER WHITECAPS FC 3: Defending Canadian Champions set to host the final on June 7 at BC Place

​​​​LANGFORD, BC – Vancouver Whitecaps FC defeated Pacific FC 3-0 in the semifinals of the Canadian Championship on Wednesday. Whitecaps FC will now host the 2023 Canadian Championship Final against CF Montréal on Wednesday, June 7 at BC Place. Tickets are available at

However, all thoughts were with Ali Ahmed after leaving the match with an injury in the first half. Ahmed suffered a concussion with a momentary loss of consciousness. He regained consciousness and was transported to the Victoria General Hospital ER. He received a full evaluation at the hospital including a CT scan, which returned at normal levels and he was cleared to travel with the team back to Vancouver.

Prior to that moment, Ahmed had helped Whitecaps FC to an early 2-0 lead. The first goal came on a rocket from Julian Gressel on a counterattack in the 14th minute.

Three minutes later, Ahmed scored on another unstoppable shot to double the lead.

Simon Becher rounded out the scoring in the second half, finishing a ball in the box from Pedro Vite to make it 3-0 in the 78th minute.

The ‘Caps have a quick turnaround, as they are back in MLS action this Saturday on the road for their first ever match with expansion side St. Louis City SC. Kickoff will be at 5:30 p.m. PT, live on TSN, MLS Season Pass on Apple TV, and on AM 730 Radio.

Whitecaps FC are then back home next Wednesday, May 31 against Houston Dynamo FC.



Attendance: 5,221
Referee: Drew Fischer

Scoring Summary
14′ – VAN – Julian Gressel (Alessandro Schöpf)
17′ – VAN – Ali Ahmed
78′ – VAN – Simon Becher (Pedro Vite)

Possession: PAC 35.6% – VAN 64.4%
Shots: PAC 16 – VAN 10
Shots on Goal: PAC 3 – VAN 5
Saves: PAC 2 – VAN 3
Fouls: PAC 10 – VAN 16
Offsides: PAC 1 – VAN 0
Corners: PAC 7 – VAN 5

47′ – PAC – Manny Aparicio
56′ – VAN – Sergio Córdova
75′ – VAN – Tristan Blackmon

Pacific FC
1.Emil Gazdov; 13.Kunle Dada-Luke, 55.Amer Didic, 26.Thomas Meilleur-Giguère, 2.Georges Mukumbilwa; 20.Sean Young (7.Steffen Yeates 78′), 28.Cédric Toussaint (31.Kekuta Manneh 55′), 34.Manny Aparicio; 11.Josh Heard (8.Pierre Lamothe 77′), 23.Djenairo Daniels (9.Easton Ongaro 62′), 21.Ayman Sellouf (10.Adonijah Reid 62′)

Substitutes not used
12.Kieran Baskett, 3.Eric Lajeunesse

Vancouver Whitecaps FC
18.Yohei Takaoka; 27.Ryan Raposo (14.Luís Martins 64′), 2.Mathías Laborda, 6.Tristan Blackmon, 22.Ali Ahmed (23.Javain Brown 35′); 19.Julian Gressel, 20.Andrés Cubas, 31.Russell Teibert (7.Déiber Caicedo 76′); 9.Sergio Córdova, 8.Alessandro Schöpf (45.Pedro Vite 64′); 24.Brian White (29.Simon Becher 76′)

Substitutes not used
1.Thomas Hasal, 25.Ryan Gauld


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.