Premier John Horgan’s new cabinet – that includes Harry Bains and Ravi Kahlon – sworn in

Rachna Singh (Anti-Racism Initiatives) and Niki Sharma (Community Development and Non-Profits) appointed parliamentary secretaries

HARRY Bains, who retained his Labour Ministry in Premier John Horgan’s new cabinet that was sworn in on Thursday, told The VOICE: “I feel really excited and it’s such a privilege and honour to continue to serve a second term. It’s such a fulfilling and satisfying experience for an immigrant who came to Canada with very little money in his pocket and today we are making laws for British Columbians and I am part of the Executive Council that is committed to make life much more affordable for British Columbians and improve our services that people can depend on, and have an economy that every British Columbian can benefit from no matter where they live, no matter what their status is.”

Harry Bains being sworn in as Labour Minister.

He added: “I think that’s what the government should be all about and I am going to do everything that I can to continue to work to make the lives and health and safety and the working conditions better for workers of British Columbia.”

Bains noted: “I am really excited that, on the one hand, we have challenges; but on the other hand, we have opportunities to help British Columbians. The challenges are enormous as COVID-19 continues to hit British Columbians and I think that would be our number one priority as government to make sure that the health and safety of British Columbians is protected, that we get rid of COVID-19 as soon as we can and at the same time restart the economy where people can have jobs to go back to, businesses can restart and people can start to enjoy their lives again by travelling, by enjoying what they always enjoyed in beautiful British Columbia.”

Ravi Kahlon

Ravi Kahlon, as had been expected, was also appointed to cabinet. He is Minister of Jobs, Economic Recovery and Innovation.

Horgan said: “The pandemic has turned the lives of British Columbians upside down. We have come a long way together, but we have much further to go. This skilled, diverse team is ready to continue our fight against COVID-19 and build an economic recovery that includes everyone.”

The new cabinet members are tasked with continuing government’s cross-ministry response to the pandemic, providing better health care for people and families, delivering affordability and security in B.C.’s communities, and investing in good jobs and livelihoods in a clean-energy future.

Horgan said: “I know this is a hard time for British Columbians. COVID-19 has brought challenges unlike any we’ve faced before. By putting people first, investing in hospitals and diagnostics, supporting front-line workers and by everyone doing their part to fight this virus, we will make it through, together.”

The new cabinet includes 20 ministers and four ministers of state. Gender representation remains balanced. The cabinet will be supported in its work by 13 parliamentary secretaries, with portfolios including Rural Development, Anti-Racism, and Technology and Innovation.

Rachna Singh
Niki Sharma

The cabinet and parliamentary secretaries are as follows:

Premier: John Horgan

Attorney General (and Minister Responsible For Housing): David Eby

* Parliamentary Secretary – Anti-Racism Initiatives: Rachna Singh

Advanced Education and Skills Training: Anne Kang

* Parliamentary Secretary – Skills Training: Andrew Mercier

Agriculture, Food and Fisheries: Lana Popham

* Parliamentary Secretary – Fisheries and Aquaculture: Fin Donnelly

Citizens’ Services: Lisa Beare

Children and Family Development: Mitzi Dean

* Minister of State for Child Care: Katrina Chen

Education: Jennifer Whiteside

Energy, Mines and Low Carbon Innovation (and Minister Responsible for the Consular Corps of British Columbia): Bruce Ralston

Environment and Climate Change Strategy (and Minister Responsible for Translink): George Heyman

* Parliamentary Secretary – Environment: Kelly Greene

Finance: Selina Robinson

* Parliamentary Secretary – Gender Equity: Grace Lore

Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development: Katrine Conroy

* Minister of State for Lands, Natural Resource Operations: Nathan Cullen

* Parliamentary Secretary – Rural Development: Roly Russell

Health (and Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs): Adrian Dix

* Parliamentary Secretary – Seniors Services and Long Term Care: Mable Elmore

Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation: Murray Rankin

Jobs, Economic Recovery and Innovation: Ravi Kahlon

* Minister of State for Trade: George Chow

* Parliamentary Secretary – Technology and Innovation: Brenda Bailey

Labour: Harry Bains

* Parliamentary Secretary – New Economy: Adam Walker

Mental Health and Addictions: Sheila Malcolmson

Municipal Affairs: Josie Osborne

Public Safety and Solicitor General: Mike Farnworth

* Parliamentary Secretary – Emergency Preparedness: Jennifer Rice

Social Development and Poverty Reduction: Nicholas Simons

* Parliamentary Secretary – Community Development and Non-Profits: Niki Sharma

* Parliamentary Secretary – Accessibility: Dan Coulter

Tourism, Arts, Culture and Sport: Melanie Mark

* Parliamentary Secretary – Arts and Film: Bob D’Eith

Transportation and Infrastructure: Rob Fleming

* Minister of State for Infrastructure: Bowinn Ma