NDP says John Horgan’s team includes most diverse slate of candidates in BC’s history

THE BC NDP announced on Friday that it has successfully nominated a full slate of 87 candidates representing the diverse makeup of the province. Over a majority (53%) of the candidates are women, representing the highest number of women candidates ever to run for a party in BC. A quarter of the candidates are persons of colour, there are five Indigenous candidates, three people living with disabilities, six candidates from the LGBTQ community and four youth running for the BC NDP.

“I could not be more proud of our BC NDP team that represents the breadth of British Columbia in all its forms. I’m excited for our team to bring their ideas and experiences together to serve the people of this beautiful province,” said Premier John Horgan.

The 2020 candidates for the BC NDP:

Abbotsford-Mission: Pam Alexis
Abbotsford South: Inder Johal
Abbotsford West: Preet Rai
Boundary-Similkameen: Roly Russell
Burnaby-Deer Lake: Anne Kang
Burnaby-Edmonds: Raj Chouhan
Burnaby-Lougheed: Katrina Chen
Burnaby North: Janet Routledge
Cariboo-Chilcotin: Scott Andrews
Cariboo North: Scott Elliott
Chilliwack: Dan Coulter
Chilliwack-Kent: Kelli Paddon
Columbia River-Revelstoke: Nicole Cherlet
Coquitlam-Burke Mountain: Fin Donnelly
Coquitlam-Maillardville: Selina Robinson
Courtenay-Comox: Ronna-Rae Leonard
Cowichan Valley: Rob Douglas
Delta North: Ravi Kahlon
Delta South: Bruce Reid
Esquimalt-Metchosin: Mitzi Dean
Fraser-Nicola: Aaron Sumexheltza
Kamloops-North Thompson: Sadie Hunter
Kamloops-South Thompson: Anna Thomas
Kelowna-Lake Country: Justin Kulik
Kelowna-Mission: Krystal Smith
Kelowna West: Spring Hawes
Kootenay East: Wayne Stetski
Kootenay West: Katrine Conroy
Langford-Juan de Fuca: John Horgan
Langley: Andrew Mercier
Langley East: Megan Dykeman
Maple Ridge-Mission: Bob D’Eith
Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows: Lisa Beare
Mid Island-Pacific Rim: Josie Osborne
Nanaimo: Sheila Malcolmson
Nanaimo-North Cowichan: Doug Routley
Nechako Lakes: Anne Marie Sam
Nelson-Creston: Brittny Anderson
New Westminster: Jennifer Whiteside
North Coast: Jen Rice
North Island: Michele Babchuk
North Vancouver-Lonsdale: Bowinn Ma
North Vancouver-Seymour: Susie Chant
Oak Bay-Gordon Head: Murray Rankin
Parksville-Qualicum: Adam Walker
Peace River North: Danielle Monroe
Peace River South: Cory Longley
Penticton: Toni Boot
Port Coquitlam: Mike Farnworth
Port Moody-Coquitlam: Rick Glumac
Powell River-Sunshine Coast: Nicholas Simons
Prince George-Mackenzie: Joan Atkinson
Prince George-Valemount: Laura Parent
Richmond North Centre: Jaeden Dela Torre
Richmond-Queensborough: Aman Singh
Richmond South Centre: Henry Yao
Richmond Steveston: Kelly Greene
Saanich North and the Islands: Zeb King
Saanich South: Lana Popham
Shuswap: Sylvia Lindgren
Skeena: Nicole Halbauer
Stikine: Nathan Cullen
Surrey-Cloverdale: Mike Starchuk
Surrey-Fleetwood: Jagrup Brar
Surrey-Green Timbers: Rachna Singh
Surrey-Guildford: Garry Begg
Surrey-Newton: Harry Bains
Surrey-Panorama: Jinny Sims
Surrey South: Pauline Greaves
Surrey-Whalley: Bruce Ralston
Surrey-White Rock: Bryn Smith
Vancouver-Fairview: George Heyman
Vancouver-False Creek: Brenda Bailey
Vancouver-Fraserview: George Chow
Vancouver-Hastings: Niki Sharma
Vancouver-Kensington: Mable Elmore
Vancouver-Kingsway: Adrian Dix
Vancouver-Langara: Tesicca Truong
Vancouver-Mount Pleasant: Melanie Mark
Vancouver-Point Grey: David Eby
Vancouver-Quilchena: Heather McQuillan
Vancouver-West End: Spencer Chandra Herbert
Vernon-Monashee: Harwinder Sandhu
Victoria-Beacon Hill: Grace Lore
Victoria-Swan Lake: Rob Fleming
West Vancouver-Capilano: Amelia Hill
West Vancouver-Sea to Sky: Keith Murdoch