Shakti Awards Gala a runaway success

Surrey-Green Timbers MLA Sue Hammell, who’s quitting politics, was presented the Lifetime Achievement Shakti Award by Shakti Society.
For more photos of the event, visit the World Section’s Around Town in the print edition or on E-PAPER on this website.
Photo by Chandra Bodalia

THE Shakti Awards Gala held on Saturday, March 25 at Bollywood Banquet Hall highlighted an extraordinary array of amazing women who were nominated in each of the categories. These women were nominated by their peers, family and friends. They are active in the community and  role models in their category, and have consistently demonstrated the spirit of Shakti.


The following are the Shakti Award recipients of 2017:


* Lifetime Achievement Shakti Award: Sue Hammell

Presented by Shakti Society

* Academic Achievement

Shakti Award of Excellence: Gurpreet Kaur Bains

Presented by Nana’s Kitchen

* Shakti Award for Academic Achievement: Shawna Narayan

Presented by Tohmm Cobban Architect

* Artistic Achievement

Shakti Award of Excellence: Rimpy Sahota

Presented by Perminder Chohan, S. Desjardin Financial

* Shakti Award for Artistic Achievement: Jyotika Jasuja

Presented by South of Fraser Consulting

* Business / Entrepreneur

Shakti Award of Excellence: Hema Bhatt

Presented by Dr. Bhui

* Shakti Award for Business:  Karina Hayat

Presented by Envision Financial

* Public Service Award

Shakti Award of Excellence: Rabina Anjum

Presented by Verka Foods

* Shakti Award for Public Service:  Ana Brand Castellanos

Presented by Elegant Glass Ltd

* Resilience Award

Shakti Award of Excellence: Kerry Gibson

Presented by Natu’oil Ltd

* Surinder Pangalia Shakti Award for Resilience: Saroj Sood

Presented by Aaj Magazine and Krishna Sharma

* Shakti Award of Resilience:  Gurdip Kaur Dhaliwal

Presented by Fine Drywall Ltd

* Shakti Award of Excellence to Community Organization:

The Women of Moving Forward Society

Presented by Raman and Shallu Chopra, Mortage / Financial Broker

* Shakti Award in Youth Category for Public Service:  Ramanjot Kingra

Presented by Moon to Mars Motors

* Shakti Award in Youth Category for Resilience:  Christina Basi

Presented by Gaitry Kaul, Mahavastu Consultant

* Shakti Award of Excellence for Volunteering:  Sandhya Prasad

Presented by Nanak Foods