Top academic students honored by India Club

THE India Club
The awardees: Siddhant Malik, Ishmeet Singh, Shishir Gopinath, Purujeet Monga and Nikhil Prakash.
THE India Club honored five top Grade 12 graduates on Sunday, March 30 at Burnaby’s Royal Palace Banquet Hall. The special guest speaker was Ravi Shankar Aisola, Consul General of India. Other guests included Indian Consul and Head of Chancery R. Chandramouli, former MP Ujjal Dosanjh, Raj Chauhan, MLA for Burnaby-Edmonds, and Sav Dhaliwal, Burnaby Councillor.

Baljinder Kaur Narang, Chair of Burnaby Board of Education, was the keynote speaker who gave a very inspiring speech on youth and their aspirations.

The Grade 12 Academic Achievement Awards (AAA) winners for this year were: Nikhil Prakash, Purujeet Monga, Shishir Gopinath, Ishmeet Singh and Siddhant Malik.

These outstanding students were selected for their academic excellence in the 2013 Provincial Examinations. They received a cash award and a plaque honoring their achievement.
This is the 27th year of India Club’s Academic Achievement Awards (AAA).

THE India Club
Group photo of organizers, guests and awardees. Photos by Chandra Bodalia

Following tradition, two past presidents of India Club were also honored: Dr. D.P. Goel and Dinesh Khare. They received the Golden Award, instituted in 2005, for their distinguished and sustained service to India Club over an extended period of time.

India Club is a non-profit community organization. It sponsors student scholarships at UBC, SFU, Vancouver Community College, and Killarney Secondary and John Oliver High School in Vancouver. It also gives a Gandhi Peace Essay Award at SFU and donates money to local and international causes such as Operation Eyesight Universal.

For more information and if you wish to become member of India Club, contact Dr. Satya Varshney at 604-767-2015 or email: