B.C. Liberals shuffle critic roles to focus on pandemic recovery

B.C. Liberal Leader Andrew Wilkinson on Thursday announced changes to Official Opposition critic roles “to focus on holding [Premier] John Horgan and his government to account in key areas as the NDP government struggles to respond to the challenges of COVID-19.”

“Our province has been facing the realities and challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic for six months now, and the NDP has yet to put forward any sort of plan to restart our struggling economy or help British Columbians who are suffering right now,” said Wilkinson. “Our team will continue to keep pressure on the government to act on the best ideas and solutions to help make an immediate difference in people’s lives as they continue to deal with the pandemic. With a renewed focus on jobs, the economy, child care, housing, education, and mental health and addictions, the BC Liberals are going to be focused hard on the issues that matter most to British Columbians right now.”

“Our renewed direction has been shaped by conversations with thousands of British Columbians in every corner of the province as we developed ideas and solutions to help people, non-profits, and small businesses that are all struggling right now,” added Wilkinson. “By the time John Horgan and the NDP decided a six-week online survey would be their only response to the need for an economic recovery plan, we had already submitted over 60 policies and crafted a plan to get B.C. back on track. The government has been all talk and no action, so the changes we’ve made today highlight that and build upon our momentum as we continue to fight for a plan that provides opportunity for all of B.C.”

In separate announcements, the B.C. Liberals highlighted the roles of Abbotsford West MLA Mike de Jong as the new critic for Attorney General and Surrey South MLA Stephanie Cadieux as the critic for ICBC.

Leader of the Official Opposition Andrew Wilkinson
Advanced Education, Skills, & Training John Martin*
Agriculture & Food Security Ian Paton
Agri-Tourism Dan Ashton*
Arts & Culture John Yap*
Attorney General Mike de Jong*
BC Hydro Jordan Sturdy*
Children & Family Development Joan Isaacs*
Citizens’ Services Marvin Hunt*
Education Dan Davies
Economic Development, Competitiveness, Trade, & Technology Jas Johal*
Economic Development, Competitiveness, Trade, & Technology: Trade Ben Stewart
Economic Development, Competitiveness, Trade, & Technology: Regional Economic Development & Small Business Jackie Tegart*
Emergency Preparedness Coralee Oakes*
Energy, Mines, & Petroleum Resources Tom Shypitka
Environment & Parks Greg Kyllo*
Finance Shirley Bond
Forests, Lands, & Natural Resource Operations John Rustad
Health, Long-Term Care, & Seniors Norm Letnick
ICBC Stephanie Cadieux*
Indigenous Relations Michael Lee & Doug Clovechok*
Labour Peter Milobar*
LNG, Resource Opportunities, & Responsible Development Ellis Ross
Mental Health, Addictions, & Community Wellness Jane Thornthwaite
Multiculturalism Teresa Wat
Municipal Affairs & Housing Todd Stone
Public Safety & Solicitor General Mike Morris
Social Development & Poverty Reduction Sam Sullivan*
Tourism, Hospitality, & Sport Michelle Stilwell
Transportation & Infrastructure Mike Bernier & Laurie Throness*

*Indicates new role

House Roles
House Leader Mary Polak
Whip Eric Foster
Deputy Whip Greg Kyllo
Caucus Chair Jackie Tegart
Assistant Deputy Speaker Simon Gibson

Not Seeking Re-election
Donna Barnett
Rich Coleman
Linda Larson
Linda Reid
Ralph Sultan
Steve Thomson